Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 3D

This is a spoiler free review!

I’ve never been a great a fan of Adventure/Fantasy movies like ‘Harry Potter’ and ‘Lord of the Rings’. But I have seen all the 7 previous HP movies, both each of them as they premiered and then again at the HP Marathon in the Imperial Theatre in CPH this Monday/Tuesday. And of cause climaxing of, with this the 8th and (possibly) last movie about the now 17 years old sorcerer.

However, I must say that in HPatDH:P2, director David Yates has come up with the winning formula🙂 It’s not that I resent open-ended movies, like eg. ‘Shutter Island’ or ‘Inception’, but I find that now when we have followed Harry, Hermione, Ron and the numerous other characters for almost 20 hours, that we deserve some kind of closure and seeing at least some of the pieces of the puzzle falling into place. And we do get those puzzle pieces falling somewhat into place in this movie, I think, but still with enough openings to be able to continue the story, either in the silver screen or in your own head.

What I also like about this movie, is that it’s even darker and even more ‘violent’ than it’s predecessors. The 3D adds to the ‘darkening’ effect of the movie. I guess this wasn’t done with intention. I still have a hard time seeing what good 3D does for live action movies. What I also like is that it does not have a dull moment, like the long and very boring midsection from its predecessor, were Harry and Hermione was searching for this magical sword. It just went on and on an on…

Towards the end of HPatDH:P2, there are two scenes that annoys me a somewhat. I won’t go into that here, as it may spoil the ending for some people, but it affects the stars that I’m going to award the movie.

The one thing that are hard to set a finger on in this film, as indeed has been the case in all the films, are the brilliant British cast. Names like Alan Rickman (Severus Snape), Ralph Fiennes (Voldemort), Helena Bonham Carter (Bellatrix Lestrange) says it all, but the list goes on and on.

How many stars should I give this movie, which is, as indicated above, not my type of movie at all? I’m very much in doubt… It’s IMHO the best of the HP movies… I’ll give it 4,5 out of 6 – but will reserve the right to change my mind, when the movie has sunk in, so to speak🙂

Dette indlæg blev udgivet i At the Movies, English. Bogmærk permalinket.

Skriv et svar

