The Ides of March

This political drama with usually excellent actors like George Clooney, Ryan Gosling, Philip Seymour Hoffman and Marisa Tomei, did absolutely nothing for me. Not that their acting had suddenly turned bad, not that the story wasn’t promising and not that there wasn’t any drama, but I was not gripped by the going ones at all. I was in a state of total un-gripped-ness…

One might argue that the reason why I was bored beyond belief, was that I do not fully comprehend the American way of doing politics. Of cause, being an European, I cannot deny this flat-out. However, I do think that I do know more about American politics than the average American know about European politics. And, sadly, I can say that the wheeling-dealing, the spin, the lies, the sex becomes more and more a part of the Danish elections and everyday political life, as it has been the case for many years in the US.

During the first half of the flick, I had to fight hard to stay awake. In the latter half, things sped up a bit, from frame-by-frame to slow-motion, and I did manage to stay awake for the duration of the movie. I cannot be bothered to write more about this movie, so let’s go to the grades…

     

Dette indlæg blev udgivet i At the Movies, English og tagget , , , , , , , . Bogmærk permalinket.

Skriv et svar

